Tomorrow is the day, the first day of school.  To say that I am not a little bit nervous would be a lie.  I am nervous, I am excited and filled with anticipation with what this year is going to bring.  This year I am teaching Grade 8, a new grade for me and I am already receiving feedback from my colleagues as to how set up and run my class.  All intermediate classes at my school are set up the same way, individual rows not a lot of design, very sterile.  I have decided to go against the grain.  My students will start the year in pairs, on the condition that they can manage themselves, they will stay this way.  I am trying to create a trust between us.  I want my classroom to be as diplomatic as possible.  Other teachers have told me that my students will not respect me for this, however I am hoping to prove them wrong.  I guess that time will tell.

Leave a Reply

